top of page

Scarlet Letter Alternative Ending

Good evening, readers. Today as I sifted through the vast amounts of bytes stashed away in my Google Docs, I discovered something quite curious from one year ago: an old assignment from English class where we were assigned to write an alternative ending to the classic Nathaniel Hawthorne novel, The Scarlet Letter. Naturally, I felt right at home with this task. I decided to have a little bit of fun with what I was asked to do, drawing inspiration from one of my favorite authors to create an ending a tad more, well, in the words of Lovecraft himself, Cyclopian. I figure that since The Scarlet Letter property itself is tangled in a web of copywriters and trademarks, too many and too treacherous for me to every tempt, that there will sadly never be an edition of Hawthorne's immortal classic that will end on my note. That is why since I have the means, I will post my little excerpt on here. For free. Consider it a late Christmas/Hanukkah present. Apologies in advance for not matching Hawthorne's style beat for beat, but I tried and sure had fun doing it. Additionally, if you haven't read the chronicles of Hester Prynne, Pearl, Rodger Chillingworth, and the rest, then I highly recommend minimizing your browser window, going to your local library, and reading the book for yourself, at least until chapter 19, which is where my ending picks up. I myself thoroughly enjoyed the novel. Anyway, without further ado, you can click the link to access the alternative ending. Enjoy, and may the lord of darkness Cthulhu devour this plane last!

About the Author

 

My name is not L. Whit, but I am a writer. The art of storytelling have always been a passion of mine ever since grade school. I remember the first book I wrote was about Spider-Man preventing a bank robbery. Anyways I digress.

Having people read my work is a huge goal in life and hopefully this blog gets me one step closer to that.

Apart from all of that, I live in Chicago, my favorite color is yellow, I'm male and my sign is gemini. (Not like it matters or anything.)

You can read more about me on my profile page if you're interested. Go ahead. I'll wait.

Works:

 

Ninjutsu Volume 1 Coming Soon

 

*Title in progress*Coming Soon

 FOLLOW L. 
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page